Alpaca Forum at AlpacaNation
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forum Archives
 Alpaca Healthcare and Nutrition (Archive)
 Cria that was septic
 Forum Locked
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Clay Leibold

1 Posts

Posted - 11/01/2006 :  11:06:12 PM  Show Profile  Visit Clay Leibold's Homepage
Hello everyone,
This is my first time on the forum. Just wanted to get an opinion. I'm a new breeder and just had my first set back. We had our first male cria born on the farm last Tuesday. It was a long delivery and we had to help the dam. He was weak and a bit hypoxic, among other things. After a plasma transfusion and a long night with the vet, he seemed to be getting better. His IgG was over 3,000 and blood tests were pretty good. The Vet did say he was a bit septic. I'm sorry to say on the fifth day we lost the little tropper. He suddenly turned very weak and passed on very quickly. I was curious to learn the definition of the term septic. Any help would be appreciated. As a side note, we have 2 healthy female crias from this fall breeding season. Thank you.
Clay Leibold
Pine Creek Alpacas
Orwigsburg, PA

allamericanalpacas

4245 Posts

Posted - 11/01/2006 :  11:29:16 PM  Show Profile
Hi Clay,
Sorry for the loss.
Septic (sepsis) is a fancy term for massive infection.
Say a cria is born in a poop pile or something else as nasty, the infection can enter through the umbillus. We treat the navel with nolvasan (or iodine) but it can still enter.
The IgG tells us he had good passive transfer, but there was a pathogen (germ) he wasn't prepared for.
Not every cria or other creature born will survive, it's just the way it is.
Enjoy the 2 girls you got

Rick
--
Rick & Pati Horn
All American Alpacas
35215 Avenida Mañana
Murrieta, Ca. 92563
http://aaalpacas.com/updates.html
http://alpacanation.com/aaalpacas.asp
(951) 679-7795
Life is good!
Go to Top of Page

thesilversuri