Alpaca Forum at AlpacaNation
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forum Archives
 Alpaca Healthcare and Nutrition (Archive)
 Dosage amount - Injectable Ivomec
 Forum Locked
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

CajunImpression

19 Posts

Posted - 12/01/2006 :  4:03:26 PM  Show Profile
Hello,

I'm very new to the world of alpaca's and llamas. It's time for deworming and I was wondering if someone could tell me what the recommended dosage is for injectable Ivomec?

Presently, I have 4 alpacas and 1 llama and they are all geldings (if it matters).

thanks!!!

Elizabeth Jones

Christiane

2796 Posts

Posted - 12/01/2006 :  6:34:09 PM  Show Profile
My vet says 1cc per 50 lbs of body weight.. I normally give Dectomax and give that every five weeks.. Ivomec is normally given every four weeks. I have been told that the Dectomax does not sting as the Ivomec does. Not being an Alpaca, I can't tell if this is true or not.

Christiane Rudolf
Tanglewood Farm
19741 Victory Lane
Fayetteville, Ohio 45118
(513) 875-3739
Go to Top of Page

Judith

4029 Posts

Posted - 12/01/2006 :  6:46:23 PM  Show Profile  Send Judith a Yahoo! Message
Having stuck myself with the needle on more than one occasion, I can attest that neither of them sting worse than the other!

I believe that there was some discussion among camelid vets about a year ago about raising the dosage of Ivomec to 1cc/50 pounds (it had been 1cc/100 pounds), but I believe it was determined that 1/50 was unnecessarily high. I think they've gone back to recommending 1cc/100 pounds (and 1cc/50 pounds of Dectomax). Anyone recall that discussion??