Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Alpaca Discussion Forums
 1. Alpacas 101: Getting Started
 Newbie with million questions, Toxic Plants?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

HayWagon

19 Posts

Posted - 06/06/2007 :  5:01:01 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello, I am completely new to alpacas, new to the forum, and have a lot to learn before I'm ready to buy. I am in west central Indiana with about 4 acres. While I'm learning I would like to start getting my land ready. Tasks that I can get started on include removing bad plants, planting good plants, fencing, shelter, and so on. I have seen references to a toxic plant list but have not found the list. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Many many more questions to come. Thanks, Shawn

I know nothing but hope to improve. I'm here to learn.

richbye

750 Posts

Posted - 06/06/2007 :  6:17:41 PM  Show Profile  Visit richbye's Homepage  Send richbye a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
Ok, here's the list I have for toxic plants:
arrowgrass
azalea
black locust
black walnut
bracken fern
buckeye
black nightshade
broom snakeweed
beargrass
buckwheat
cocklebur
chokeberry
death camas
false hellebore
fiddleneck
foxglove
fitweed
greasewood
hemlock (poison hemlock and water hemlock)
halogeton
horsetail
houndstongue
jimsonweed
larkspur
lupine
laurel
locoweed
lantana
milkweed
mountain mahogony
mushroom (Amanita)
mustard
nightshade
oleander (bloody)
oak
poison oak/ivy
ragwort
rhododendron
ryegrass (due to endophtyes in the ryegrass)
Sorghum (in wild form Johnsongrass)
St. Johnswort
tall fescue
wild tobacco
western chokeberry
western yellow pine
yew