Alpaca Discussion Forums
 3. Birthing & Neonatal Care
 Labor Signs
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

sparky168

74 Posts

Posted - 08/30/2009 :  11:19:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am new to breeding alpacas. I have been in the horse business for many years and am very familiar with what to look for in mares that are about to give birth. What are the most common signs of impending labor in alpacas?

I have a female now that is breathing heavy, looking uncomfortable, and the cria is doing jumping lacks inside her.

llamapelli

1401 Posts

Posted - 08/30/2009 :  11:44:41 PM  Show Profile  Visit llamapelli's Homepage  Reply with Quote
In my experience, those symptoms mean:

1. She will have the baby any moment

2. She will have the baby in the next few days

3. All symptoms will stop and she'll have the baby next month with no signs at all.

4. She is not really pregnant at all, but has a wicked case of gas.

Ignore the last one, but the other 3 are pretty much on the button.

Melanie McMurry MD
Anasazi Alpacas & Kokopelli Llamas
Gladesville, WV
304-864-5210
http://www.alpacanation.com/anasazialpacas.asp
Go to Top of Page

allamericanalpacas

4245 Posts

Posted - 08/30/2009 :  11:49:15 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
IMO, the best resource on the internet is at http://veneziadream.com/birth_labor.htm

Rick
--
Rick & Pati Horn
All American Alpacas
35215 Avenida Maņana
Murrieta, Ca. 92563
951-217-0306
alpacanation.com/aaalpacas.asp
http://aaalpacas.com/updates.html
Life is Good!
Go to Top of Page

pdhmaine

629 Posts

Posted - 08/31/2009 :  10:46:31 AM  Show Profile  Visit pdhmaine's Homepage  Reply with Quote