New Topic  Reply to Topic
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

wannapaca

34 Posts

Posted - 10/21/2009 :  7:51:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
HEllo.
I am new to alpacas. When I feed alpacas, I always go through the feed and pick out suspicious pieces of molasses. Has anyone here had a problem with an alpaca choking? I'm still gonna check the feed, but I'm just asking. Did you ever have to use one of those tube things or is there usually time for a vet?
Thanks
wannapaca

rgoss1

663 Posts

Posted - 10/21/2009 :  8:15:50 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
What I've found is that choking is normally a result of the alpacas trying to gobble down their food too quickly. Thankfully, I've never had to resort to tubing or contacting the vet.

I normally keep a syringe filled with water and squirt a little water into the mouth of the alpaca that is choking. I then will rub their neck in one direction until the situation seems to have passed.

Some suggestions to avoid this is to insure that your alpacas have plenty of room to eat. Some people feed them with separate bowls while others add rocks to the feed to slow them down.

Hope this helps!

Roxanne Goss
Lands End Alpacas LLC
Vermilion, Ohio
gossr@roadrunner.com 440-225-4138
Go to Top of Page

phtiede

3 Posts

Posted - 10/21/2009 :  9:30:24 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
What size rocks are safe?

Pam
Go to Top of Page

bobvicki

2960 Posts

Posted - 10/21/2009 :  10:17:56 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Ones that are to big for them to accidently get in there mouth while gobbling food would be good.

Bob

Bob & Vicki Blodgett
Suri Land Alpaca Ranch
3288 Halter Avenue
Newton, Iowa 50208
641-831-3576
alpaca@iowatelecom.net
www.alpacanation.com/suriland.asp
Go to Top of Page

rachshees

478 Posts

Posted - 10/21/2009 :  10:19:41 PM  Show Profile  Send rachshees an AOL message  Reply with Quote