New Topic  Reply to Topic
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

TOWNLINE

58 Posts

Posted - 07/28/2013 :  07:54:21 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm still learning
Question is: What does a tumbler due that sorting does not do? What does sorting do that a tumbler does not do?

Mike
SuCaya Farms
Smithfield me.

Judith

4103 Posts

Posted - 07/28/2013 :  09:13:53 AM  Show Profile  Send Judith a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
Ouch! A tumbler mixes up all the grades into one indistinguishable "grade" which will cause your entire fleece to be graded at its worst and unsuitable for many (most?) applications. Sorting separates out the various grades within a fleece so they can be used appropriately. If you tumble a fleece that has not been skirted and sorted, you simply blend all the grades into one - the worst. The ultimate use of the fleece depends on its grade. An unsorted/separated mixed-grade fleece isn't even suitable for rugs because it will have finer fibers that can't stand up to the hard wear that rugs require, and will quickly wear. Never tumble a whole fleece unless you're certain that it's all one grade.

Judith Korff
AlpacaNation Forum Co-Moderator
The Pastel Paca at LadySong Farm
Randolph, NY 14772
Cell: (716) 499-0383
www.alpacanation.com/ladysong.asp
Go to Top of Page

alpacastarr

688 Posts

Posted - 07/28/2013 :  09:30:38 AM  Show Profile  Visit alpacastarr's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by TOWNLINE

I'm still learning
Question is: What does a tumbler due that sorting does not do? What does sorting do that a tumbler does not do?

Mike
SuCaya Farms
Smithfield me.

Still learning too! Did you maybe mean skirting when you said sorting? There are a lot of words associated with fleeces! Here's my best effort to define a few key words.