Alpaca Discussion Forums
 1. Alpacas 101: Getting Started
 Straw on the floor?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

no1purplepeopleeater

4 Posts

Posted - 09/02/2014 :  12:16:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Probably sounds like a daft question but I can't find a 'straight' answer anywhere!!

As a COMPLETE novice to any sort of outdoor animal husbandry I am really unsure if I am doing this bit right!

The previous owners of our house and 2 alpacas have left us feed, hay and straw in their 'shed/house/hut'.

I know what to do with the feed and hay - figured that one out!!

BUT I am a bit unsure what and where I am supposed to put/do with the straw??!!

I have been treating the floor of the shed a bit like a rabbit hutch - the closest reference I have as a pet!

They don't do their business in the shed but they do rest in there and I have helped make 'nests' on the floor for them.

It is only a scattering not a massive fluffy pillow of straw!!

I then sweep it up once a week and put fresh down.

I have only started doing this in the last couple of weeks as the weather has been VERY wet here in Wales.

Now is this something I should do year round?

Do I put more down in the colder months?

How often should it be 'mucked' out?

I hope you are kind to this daft question but I have really looked for a sensible answer, even looking for pictures of alpacas in their huts and it seems to differ so much with no straw to layers of it!!

Thank you in advance for your advice!

Laura
Guardian of Sancho and Iceman
Llangadfan
Wales
UK

Christiane

2830 Posts

Posted - 09/02/2014 :  8:21:57 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote