Alpaca Discussion Forums
 1. Alpacas 101: Getting Started
 Separating and shelter concerns
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ElkCreekAlpacas

10 Posts

Posted - 04/03/2015 :  10:01:17 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am very new to this and when we initially bought our registered ones...a neighbor ended up asking if we would also take their non registered ones since the wife was ill and unfortunately she passed after we agreed to accept them. We have been diligently trying to match them all up appropriately since we have two registered herdsires. So, yesterday when the storm hit we were trying to get our alpacas separated in order for them all to have appropriate shelters. We have some that can't be together because of bloodline and breed. My concerns are the females we separated that came from our neighbor do not seem to want to be separated. They all ended up standing out in the storm looking at each other by the fence that separated them. I don't know if they will eventually be ok...or if we should just put them all together even though I really don't want too many pet alpacas...we want to continue breeding ones we can register. The original owner could not give me correct information on three of the six girls...and from what it seems to me after trying to get them separated...I would say that at least four of them are daughters of the oldest one because she would make little cry noises to them...not sure if this is an accurate assumption though. If anyone has any information or have had similar experiences...I would be more than appreciative for the advice! Thanks!!!

Kate

319 Posts

Posted - 04/03/2015 :  1:07:00 PM  Show Profile  Visit Kate's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Thank you for taking in alpacas in need!