Alpaca Discussion Forums
 1. Alpacas 101: Getting Started
 fiber quality
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

azwelshponygirl

2 Posts

Posted - 10/10/2013 :  09:00:19 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello, I am new to alpacas and have started with fiber boys. My question is at what age does the fiber loose its quality, and when is it no longer of any value? Also if I geld my boys at the age of 4 years will this help maintain the quality longer? Thanks so much. I am truly smitten with these guys and see more in my future

pawsnpaca

373 Posts

Posted - 10/10/2013 :  3:50:12 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm sure others will chime in but FWIW, in my opinion there's never going to be a time when their fleece has "no value." It all depends on what you want to do with the fleece. Last year I had a full range of fleece quality in my herd - from lovely Grade 2 to really coarse "rug" fiber. I had it Certified Sorted and turned into roving by grade - and it was the Grade 4 and 5 that has sold. I have almost all of my Grade 2 still. Beautiful fine fiber only brings in money if you can actually sell it to someone (or turn it into something that sells).

In the last year I've actually fallen in love with core spun yarn and all the things I can make from it (mostly woven or crocheted rugs). Core spun is usually made from the clean but coarse fiber that a lot of people tell you to just throw away (e.g., the "seconds and thirds"). A friend who carries a variety of products - from high end yarn to the bumps of core spun says she has a hard time holding on to enough of the core spun to be able to make rugs for sale.

As much as I can appreciate the beauty of fine alpaca fiber, I actually intentionally purchased some white "not so great" fleeces from another farm this year so I'd have plenty of "rug fiber" that I could have dyed and add to my otherwise very "brown" bumps!