1. Alpacas 101: Getting Started
 Seriously Considering The Alpaca Lifestyle
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Yarnie

1 Posts

Posted - 08/20/2014 :  6:01:07 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello there!

My name is Amanda, I'm a California native and I'm getting married in October. My husband to be and I are on planning on moving to Arizona where we can purchase a few acres of land (get away from the city) and kind of homestead. I have my mind set on raising a couple of alpacas, maybe not breeding or show yet.

Well, we're planning on stopping by a local Alpaca farm during our honeymoon (And I'm sooo excited!) and possibly scout out my first alpaca.

Question is, as a newbie I heard I should go for a young gelded male to start. Is this true? Should I be concerned with the possibility of Berserk Male syndrome?

What should we watch out for when buying an alpaca?

Along the lines of shears, what would you recommend?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Judith

4103 Posts

Posted - 08/20/2014 :  7:03:57 PM  Show Profile  Send Judith a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
Hi Amanda. One very popular way of starting out with alpacas is to buy males to "learn on." It's nice when you can find geldings, but since gelding is a veterinary surgical procedure in alpacas, it can add to the cost, so many farms don't geld unless an animal is unruly or exceptionally aggressive with other males. You don't normally have to be concerned with Berserk Male Syndrome unless you're dealing with a bottle baby who grew up not learning appropriate boundaries. There are not many alpacas that can really be called Berserk.

Or you may find someone selling some older females for a very reasonable price. You don't need to start with males, although they're usually less expensive and readily available.